Thursday, June 26, 2003

M is getting a couple boxes of wine for the weekend. At first I thought she meant cases, and that would be excessive, but then I realized that she meant boxes. Nobody I know drinks boxed wine. When I was growing up, the parent's of K and C always had a box of white wine or blush in the refrigerator. In Texas my boss, the boss of me and J***e, invited us over for one night. We had wine and snacks. When I opened the refrigerator to get out the white wine, I saw a couple bottles of wine and also a box. Do we get to drink wine in the box? I asked. I was pretty excited about the prospect. Well, she said I got us some bottles of wine. I prefer the taste of the boxed wine, but I don't subject my guests to it. I poured myself a glass from the box and everyone else a glass from a bottle. A couple of years ago, our friend P*** brought Jenya back a box of wine from Italy. When she was living there for a year she drank a lot of Italian boxed wine and had told P*** the story. The wine-in-an-Italian-box was smaller than the American kind, it's about the size of a container of soy milk. I guess what I'm trying to say is, offering me wine-in-the-box when I come over to your place is the surefire way to my heart. But only if I can pour it myself.