I'll tell you what I hate. Diamond ads. They drive me nuts. Even if I don't think about the diamond trade, the ads drive me crazy. I saw one on Monday night that was of a married couple and their young daughter. The mother leaves to go somewhere and the little girl runs up to her room and under her bed where she has a mason jar of coins and a diamond catalog. She runs into her dad's den, points to one of the jewels and says "I want to get this for Mommy! This is enough money, right?" And the dad, all condescending-like says "yes of course" (a practical way to teach a child the value of money, I'm sure) and the next scene is the daughter giving the diamond to the mother and the mother looks at the father all gushy-like and the daughter said "I got for for you all by myself."
Okay, now, wouldn't that ad be so much better if when the daughter ran into the father's den and said she wanted to get a diamond for mommy, if daddy said "Sweetie, Mommy doesn't wear diamonds anymore. Not since Uncle Petey got killed in that mine."
Okay, now, wouldn't that ad be so much better if when the daughter ran into the father's den and said she wanted to get a diamond for mommy, if daddy said "Sweetie, Mommy doesn't wear diamonds anymore. Not since Uncle Petey got killed in that mine."

<< Home